
Borough of Washington Fire Prevention Bureau 
100 Belvidere Avenue 

Washington, New Jersey 07882 
908-689-3600 ext 123 

 
 

Certificate of Smoke Detector and Carbon Monoxide Alarm Compliance (CSDCMAC) 
Change of Occupancy/Ownership Application  

 
Owner Name: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Address for Inspection: 
_______________________________________________________________________  
 
Municipality:   Washington Borough   County:  WARREN   Block:    Lot:   

 
An inspection shall be conducted by the owner or an authorized representative of the owner. Attached 
to this application are the requirements for a CSDCMAC. By signing this application you are certifying 
that the above property will be within compliance for the scheduled date of inspection.   
 
Contact Person: _________________________________________ Phone: _________________ 
 
_________________CLOSING/OCCUPANCY DATE Please Circle is this a Rental Property?   

Yes or No   
 
Applicant signature; _____________________________Printed: ________________________________ 

 
Note: A cash, check or money order payable to the Borough of Washington, must be paid at 
time of appointment. The Fee Structure is as follows: 
 

1. $45.00- Received more than 10 business days prior to change of occupant/ownership: 
 

2. $70.00-  Received four to 10  business days prior to change of occupant/ownership: 
 

3. $125.00 – Received fewer than four business days prior to change of  
occupant/ownership. 

 
Applications must be submitted 3 weeks in advanced from change of occupancy/ownership. There 
shall be a $500.00 non-compliance penalty issued to anyone not applying for or has changed 
occupancy/ownership without said certification.  Initial Inspections that fail will be subject to re-
inspection fees. For All Rental Properties any work and Building Permits must be approved and closed  
prior to Fire Inspection. 

Please Drop off Application to office to Schedule an Appointment for inspection 
 

 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY:  Check # _________ Cash________ Amt________ Date_________ 
 
Inspection Date __________ 
 
DCA OFFICE: 
YES or NO   Signature: ______________________ Date_________________ 
 



Borough of Washington Fire Prevention Bureau 
100 Belvidere Avenue 

Washington, New Jersey 07882 
908-689-3600 ext123 

 
                                          SMOKE DETECTOR REQUIREMENTS 

Homes built prior to 1977 did not require any original detector requirements. One smoke detector on each level is required. 
These detectors are to be located at the bottom of the basement stairwell as well as the bottom of each stairwell leading to the 
next level. A detector is also needed to be located no more than 10 feet from any bedroom within the home. The smoke 
detector can be battery operated and does not need to be interconnected. 
 
Homes built under the 1978 or 1981 code were originally built with one electric smoke detector on the sleeping and 
basement levels. These detectors were not interconnected. To pass an inspection both the original smoke detectors must be 
working and an additional detector must be added to each level not equipped with a detector as per locations found in the 
above 1977 requirement. Additional detectors may be battery operated.                  
 
Homes built under the 1984 through 1992 code require electrically powered smoke detectors on every level as originally 
built in the home. All installed detectors must be working properly to pass an inspection.                 
 
Homes built under the 1993 code require an electric powered smoke detector on every level, in the vicinity of any sleeping 
area (hallway) and in every bedroom. They are all interconnected so that the activation of one sounds all of the alarms. All 
detectors require a battery backup. This system must be in proper working order to receive a compliance certificate.  
   

 
PLEASE TEST YOUR SMOKE DETECTORS PRIOR TO THE INSPECTION TO SAVE 

COSTLY RE-INSPECTIONS. 
 

                                         FIRE EXTINGUISHER REQUIREMENTS                                    
In accordance with New Jersey Department of Community Affairs Division of Fire Safety - The New Jersey Legislature 
amended and enacted P.L. 199,c.92 (C.52:27d-198.1and 5:70-4.19), requiring that all one and two family dwellings at a 
change of occupancy be provided with a portable extinguisher, in addition to the requirements for smoke and carbon 
monoxide detectors. This provision has an effective date of  November 1, 2005. 
 
The type and placement of the extinguishers are as follows: 

1. At least one new portable fire extinguisher shall be installed in all one and two family dwellings (except 
seasonal rental units) upon change of occupancy. 
2. The extinguisher shall be listed, labeled, charged and operable. 
3. The size shall be no smaller than 2A10BC, rated for residential use and weigh no more than 10 lbs. 
4. The hangers or brackets supplied by the manufacturer must be used. 
5. The extinguisher must be located within 10 feet of the kitchen. 
6. The top of the extinguisher must not be more than 5 feet above the floor. 
7. The extinguisher must be visible and in a readily accessible location, free from being blocked by 
furniture, storage, or other items. 
8. The extinguisher must be near a room exit or travel path that provides an escape route to the exterior. 
9. The extinguisher must be accompanied by an owner's manual or written information regarding the 
operation, inspection, and maintenance of the extinguisher. 
10. Lastly, the extinguisher must be installed with the operating instructions clearly visible. 
 
New fire extinguishers are not required to be served or tagged, as long as the seller or agent can provide 
proof of purchase or receipt. 

                                               
                                            CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR REQUIREMENTS 

Battery or 110 Volt Carbon Monoxide Detectors can be installed in homes built up to the 1993 Code. These 
detectors need to be installed within 10 feet of any bedroom. Homes built from the 1993 Code and after are 
required to be electrically powered with a battery back-up as well as being at least 10 feet from any 
bedroom.  

****Continue on back**** 



Borough of Washington Fire Prevention Bureau 
100 Belvidere Avenue 

Washington, New Jersey 07882 
908-689-3600 ext123 

 
 
Additional Information: 

• Detectors must be installed (if not already) before making an appointment with our office. 
• All detectors shall be located and mounted so that jarring or vibrations will not cause accidental operation. 

All detectors shall be supported independently of their attachment wires.\ 
• Existing hardwired smoke and CO detectors that are not properly working cannot be replaced with a battery 

operated smoke detector. The higher level of protection has to be adhered to.    
• Ceiling mounting of smoke detectors is best, 6 inches of clearance is required around the smoke detectors for better 

air current and detection of smoke. 
• Do not locate battery operated smoke detectors within 5 feet of kitchen or bathroom.  
• Smoke detectors shall be installed according to manufacture, detectors 10 years or older shall be replaced.   

 
****PLEASE NOTE DETECTORS DO EXPIRE**** 

 
Note: A cash, check or money order payable to the Borough of 
Washington, must be paid at time of appointment. The Fee Structure is as 
follows: 

 
1. $45.00- Received more than 10 business days prior to change of 

occupant/ownership: 
 

2. $70.00-  Received four to 10 business days prior to change of 
occupant/ownership: 
 

3. $125.00 – Received fewer than four business days prior to change of  
occupant/ownership. 
 

Applications must be submitted 2 weeks in advanced from change of 
occupancy/ownership. There shall be a $500.00 non-compliance penalty issued to 
anyone not applying for or has changed occupancy/ownership without said 
certification.  Initial Inspections that fail will be subject to re-inspection fees. 
 
 Please drop off application to office to schedule an appointment for inspections. 
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